Got Pre-Schoolers? Need to get work done during the day? On a Budget?

mebiz, tech, & social mediatime management

Are you a WAHM, Work at Home Mom, Mompreneur, Mom Entrepreneur on a Budget but need time during the day to work on your business?

I am a mom who is at home full-time. I have 3 children, one of which is a very active 2 year old who is a wonderful high-energy little guy always looking for entertainment and fun. If there isn't any being provided he is sure to create some! My girlfriend has a little girl that is only 3 weeks older than my Jonathan and he and little Emma are the best of friends.

On several occasions during a playdate, my girlfriend Corinne and I have talked about maybe we should do some kind of babysitting trade. Well, that is just what we did. We have been trading babysitting for over a year now. How does our arrangement work? Pretty simple actually. I take my Jonathan to her house on Tuesdays from 9:30am and leave him there from 10am-4pm and she brings her Emma to my house on Thursdays for the same time frame. We visit and allow for transition for about 30 minutes before departing.

I will tell you has been FANTASTIC! On my day watching our munchkins, I am all on with toddlerland and chaos and fun for one day [as you can see in the photo above with "painting time" this summer]. Then on my day off, I am able to get amazing things accomplished in the 6 hours I am toddler-free. We feel like total SuperMoms flying around the house getting a million things done from doing laundry, doing dishes, washing floors, doing work, making and returning client phone calls [not hidden in the closet hoping the client doesn't hear your kids].

Guess what the total bonus is? Cost of this arrangement = zero dollars. It's an even trade because we are moms on a budget. Value of this arrangement = PRICELESS!

Is there a mom in business in your neighborhood that you could set up a toddler swapping trade with? Think of six hours of having a wonderful lunch and kicking out a dozen things off your massive To Do List...

MELISSA LIERMAN is a Wonder Woman of 39 Years, Wife of John 14 Years [middle school teacher], and Mother of 3 wonderful kids - MacKenzie Peter Age 11 [techno computer, blackberry loving, sensitive, guitar playing son], Maria Stella Age 9 [artistic and creative getting her soul filled each day at her first year at a performing arts school] , and Jonathan Roger Age 3 [lives to make you laugh and is the life of the party no matter wherever he goes!]. Melissa loves to help Moms to Maximize their Time with Systems, Tools, and Organization! Put yourself in a TimeOutMom and listen to her weekly Blog Talk Radio Show at Check out her blog for her latest tips, tricks, and systems to help with your family management.

The following two tabs change content below.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Web Statistics