DMV: Steps For Your Teen to Get Their Learner’s Permit
There are times in each of our lives when we hit monumental milestones. This might be the first time we ride a bike, go to school, or go to our first dance. For my daughter, it was getting her driver's license permit. Children that turn 15 are able to get their learner's permit, and must drive with a parent or guardian until they are 16. This kind of freaked me out when I first heard it. Does this mean that we are supposed to teach our own children how to drive?
With my older son, he took his learner permit test, passed it, got his motorcycle licence Melbourne, and then began riding his motorbike. I have to admit, I was nervous every time he got behind the wheel. This time around, when my daughter turned 15, I had her take a driver's education class first and then go and take her test. She will still be learning how to drive with me, but I am feeling more confident that she understands more of the do's and don'ts of the road. I thought it would be helpful to share the process of getting a learner's permit.
Steps for Teens to Get Their Learner's Permit
- You must be 15 years old in Utah. Check with your state's law. I grew up in Idaho and actually received my learner's permit when I was 14. Sounds a little scary, doesn't it?
- Pick up a driver's training manual at the local DMV.
- Study for the learner's permit test.
- Fill out the application for a driver's license at the DMV. I was able to fill out the application online for my daughter and it saved us time.
- Show the DMV appropriate proof of identity. We had to bring a Birth Certificate, her Social Security card, and proof of residency.
- Take a DMV photo. These mug shots never turn out pretty. Don't worry about dressing up for this one.
- Pay for you learner's permit. In Utah, it was $15.
- Parent signs for financial responsibility. You read that right. It is up to you to make sure your child is driving safely out on the road. This sounds easier than it is.
- Pass an eye test, and written exam. You have 3 chances to pass the written exam. What they don't tell you is that if you fail it twice in one day, you need to wait a day before you can take it again. Be prepared to see a lot of frustrated 15 year old kids at the DMV. Luckily my daughter passed on her second try. She missed it the first time by 1 point.
Enroll your child in a driver's training program before or after they take they their learner's permit test. My daughter took this through her High School. It usually costs between $80-100 dollars depending on where you go. I had her take the course before she received her license. I think it helped her have a better understanding of what to expect on the road. Once a student has receive their permit, they will spend at least 6 hours driving with an instructor in their driver's training class, and spend 3 hours observing other students in their driver's training class.
After your child has their learner's permit, they must also drive with a licensed parent or legal guardian for 30 hours. When they have completed the hours, passed their learner's permit test, taken the driver's training course, and done their required hours on the road with a parent, they are eligible for a permanent license when they are 16 or older.
If you have suffered an injury or lost a loved one in a motorcycle accident, a motorcycle accident lawyer can assist you by assessing your damages and determining how much you could receive for each damage.
When did your child learn to drive? What was the scariest part for you?
Jill Greenlaw has a banking background. She gave that up 17 years ago when she got married and started having kids. She loved being a stay-at-home mom while raising her four beautiful children. A few years ago, Jill went back to work in sales. She is now working for the Mom It Forward team as their Community Manager. She loves her job. Her interests include camping, motorcycling, boating, photography, reading, cooking, and traveling. Put her in flip flops anywhere warm and she is happy.
Featured image from flickr
Latest posts by Mom It Forward (see all)
- Fall Traditions: Carving Pumpkins and Decorating Cookies - September 20, 2023
- Seasonal Crafts: Fall Decorating Ideas - August 25, 2023
- Meal Plan: Cooking with Chicken - July 15, 2023